• Pilot Talk

    A Social Distancing Event

    How about some live seminars while our wings are temporarily clipped? I have a sizable collection of aviation safety seminars that I have conducted in the past. Some were done as webinars and some were done locally at various events. Some might call them re-runs but I would prefer to say that they have been previously enjoyed. I will run them live and provide an opportunity for discussion at the end of each one. I will also attempt to record them and post them online. Most were, or still are, valid for Wings credit, but offering credit adds a couple of layers of complexity so these will be for information only.

    Upcoming Pilot Talk Events

    To be notified of upcoming events, click here to join our mailing list.

    Flight Operations in Mountain Wave

    This presentation provides a detailed overview of a powerful meteorological phenomenon that presents potential hazards to aviators as well as opportunities to elevate one's airmanship skills. We will describe three types of mountain wave, their structure, how to predict when and where wave conditions will occur, and the visual indicators that pilots can look for to know where it is safe to operate and identify areas to avoid. It will also highlight the challenges and opportunities that mountain wave offers for sailplane pilots seeking high altitude records.

    Featuring guest presenter Kurt Kleiner, CFI FAASTeam Rep, and mountain flying enthusiast.

    May 28, 2020 2:00 PM Eastern

    12:00 Noon EDT (9:00 AM PDT, 10:00 AM MDT, 11:00 AM CDT, 1600 UTC/GMT)

    Click here to register for this event.

    If registration is full, the event will also be streamed live on Gene Benson's YouTube channel.

    Better Decision Making

    Understanding the different kinds of decisions and how to become better at each one.

    Have you ever wondered why skilled, experienced pilots sometimes have accidents? Many unfortunate aviation accidents result from poor decision making. Pilots of all skill and experience levels are subject to the same factors that sometimes adversely affect the decision making process. Often, skill in handling the aircraft and a sound understanding of aeronautical principles is not enough. Many skilled pilots have accidents because they made a bad decision, or made no decision at all.

    June 4, 2020 8:00 PM Eastern

    8:00 PM EDT (5:00 PM PDT, 6:00 PM MDT, 7:00 PM CDT, 2400 UTC/GMT)

    Click here to register for this event.

    If registration is full, the event will also be streamed live on Gene Benson's YouTube channel.

    Avoiding the Midair Collision

    Can you imagine seeing your windshield suddenly filled with the sight of another aircraft? Can you imagine feeling your airplane suddenly lurch and plummet uncontrollably toward the ground? Many pilots and passengers have experienced the horror of a midair collision. This webinar will examine some midair collisions and explore some common methods to help mitigate the risk.

    June 16, 2020 8:00 PM Eastern

    8:00 PM EDT (5:00 PM PDT, 6:00 PM MDT, 7:00 PM CDT, 2400 UTC/GMT)

    Click here to register for this event.

    If registration is full, the event will also be streamed live on Gene Benson's YouTube channel.

    Recorded Pilot Talk Events

     

    Recordings of some previous events are posted on YouTube.

    Links are posted below the event descriptions.

    To be notified of upcoming events, click here to join our mailing list.

    Twelve Treacherous Tribulations

    The most common human factors causes of errors

    The application of human factors principles to aviation safety goes back more than thirty years in the airline industry. The application of these concepts has made airline travel the safest mode of transportation on Earth. We can be safer general aviation pilots by applying these fundamentals. This recorded webinar begins by briefly explaining the origin of human factors concepts in aviation safety. It then presents twelve top causal factors of GA accidents, how to recognize them and how to mitigate their effects. Each factor is illustrated by an actual general aviation accident that occurred.

     

    Event has passed. Click here to view recording on YouTube.

    Avoiding the CFIT Accident

    "How not to hit stuff"

    Did you ever wonder why conscientious, experienced pilots sometimes fly an airplane into terrain or obstacles? This webinar goes beyond the "Probable Cause" of these CFIT accidents and explores some of the human factors that sometimes cause pilots to make poor decisions. Mitigation strategies are presented and discussed.

     

    Event has passed. Click here to view recording on YouTube.

    Avoiding the Fuel Related Accident

    Fuel Exhaustion, Fuel Management, Fuel Contamination

    Did you ever wonder why conscientious, experienced pilots sometimes run out of fuel or experience a loss of engine power because of fuel contamination? This webinar goes beyond the "Probable Cause" of these fuel-related accidents and explores some of the human factors that sometimes cause pilots to make poor decisions. Mitigation strategies will be presented and discussed.

     

    Event has passed. Click here to view recording on YouTube..

    Things They Might Not Have Taught You in Flight School

    Might be new or it might be review. Interesting either way.

    This live webinar will examine some interesting and useful concepts of aerodynamics and aircraft performance that might not have been taught or might have been forgotten. We will discuss the practical aspects of the power curve, how propellers really work, the myths of lift and weight, the three turning tendencies, how to load the airplane for optimum performance, and other interesting concepts.

    Click here to view recording on YouTube.

    The Psychology of Approach and Landing

    Skill is only part of the equation

    Recent statistics show that 37% of all non-commercial fixed-wing general aviation pilot-related accidents were categorized as either descent/approach or landing. Pilots of all experience levels and certificate levels are involved in these accidents. This webinar goes beyond the usual discussion of approach and landing accidents and looks at three psychological principles that might become a factor.

    This webinar is aimed at both instrument rated and non-instrument rated pilots.

    Click here to view recording on YouTube.

    Maintain Control

    More tips on avoiding the LOC-I accident

    According to the FAA, the number one cause of fatal general aviation accidents is loss of control inflight. This one hour webinar will examine several recent inflight loss of control accidents, each representing a different scenario. Each accident will be analyzed to determine possible root causes which will reveal some effective mitigation strategies.

    Click here to view recording on YouTube.

    All Posts
    ×